Unbeaten ton by Prabshsimran helped Patiala win U-19 DP Azad Trophy

Patiala defeated arch rivals by 6 wickets in the finals of U-19 DP Azad Trophy played at Dhruv Pandove stadium Patiala. Winning the toss and opting to bat Chandigarh opened with Ishan Goel and Arjun Azad and the duo added 26 Runs for the 1st wicket before Arjun Azad was caught by Prabhsimran Singh off Vishwajit Singh for 19 off 26 balls. Thereafter Rajangad Bawa joined Ishan Goel and the two stitched a 43 runs partnerships for the 2nd wicket before Ishan Goel was caught by Deepinder Singh off Tejpreet Singh for 21 off 57 balls. Ayush Gautam was next to go being caught by Prabhsimran Singh off Anurag Watts for 3. Reducing Chandigarh to 84 for 3 in 24.2 overs. Anurag Watts struck again as he caught and bowled Ayush Sikka for 1 reducing Chandigarh to 86 for 4. Thereafter Rajangad Bawa and Tavleen Singh added 35 runs for the 5th wicket to take the score to 121 for 5 before Rajangad Bawa was stumped by Prabhsimran Singh off Aryaman Singh for a well-made half century 51 of 75 balls with 2 boundaries and 1 six. Jahsan Singh Pannu then joined Tavleen Singh and two added 46 runs for the 6th wicket before Jahsanjot Singh was castled by Tejpreet Singh for 18. Tayleen Singh went on to score 43 off 58 balls with 2 boundaries before being stumped by Prabhsimran Singh off Aryaman Singh. Chandigarh innings ended soon after when they were bowled out for 181 in 47 overs. For Patiala the bowling honors were shared by Tejpreet Singh 3 for 57, Anurag Watts 2 for 31, Aryaman Singh 2 for 36, Deepak Kumar 1 for 21 and Vishwajit Singh 1 for 18.



Replying Patiala opened with Prabhsimran Singh and Pukhraj Singh and the duo added 39 runs for the 1st wicket before Pukhraj Singh was caught by Ayush Gautam off Jagjeet Singh for 13 off 33 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries. Right arm leg spinner Amit Shukla removed Deepinder Singh caught by AYush Gautam for 4 and Hareen Goyal caught by Ayush Gautam for 11 and then disposing off Deepak Kumar for 1 having him caught by Ishan Goel while wickets were falling regularly at one end Prabhsimran Singh was scoring at will at the other end. He stitched a partnership off 61 runs for the 3rd wicket in which Haren Goyal's contribution was 11 runs. He then added 71 runs for the unbroken 5th wicket with

Fatehveer Singh who contributed a mere unbeaten 5 runs. Prabshimran Singh unbeaten swash buckling unbeaten knock of 139 off 110 balls embellished with 13 boundaries and 5 huge sixes enabled Patiala to score a facile 6 wickets win over Chandigarh. Patiala's final tally was 183 for 4 in 37.4 overs. For Chandigarh Amit Shukla scalped 3 for 43 while Jagdeep Singh 1 for 50.

The trophies were presented by Dr. J.R. Sachdeva, Vice President, Patiala Cricket Association. The best batsman Award went to Prabh Simran Singh of Patiala, Best Bowlers award to Amit Shukla of Chandigarh, Best fielder Anurag Watts of Patiala and Best all rounder Deepak Kumar of Patiala.

The winning team Patiala were given the winners trophy and a cash prize of Rs.50,000/- while runners up team got runners up trophy and a cash prize of Rs.25,000/-.